Posted by: Leslie | November 16, 2010

First real sewing project

Outside of one made in a class, I mean. Why I decided on one that requires me to match nine different fabrics, I can’t say, other than I thought the Zig Zag quilt pattern looked very cute and within my very novice ability. Except for the edging, which will surely require another trip to Emeline & Annabelle some Sunday (oh no!).

The thing about sewing, as with most other fabric/textile/fibre endeavours, is that it is neither more cost-effective nor more efficient than buying a finished product. It does of course bring those satisfying feelings that come with creating something by hand. As I try to use sustainable materials as much as possible in my work, sewing presents a problem: sustainably-produced textiles are both hard to find and very expensive, and the labour involved in making my own (spinning and weaving from raw materials) is currently prohibitive, time-wise. So, I’m working with conventional fabrics for now…

Responses

  1. But such *pretty* conventional fabrics! Since my unfortunate A-line skirt episode in Grade 7 I’ve kind of been off sewing, but these fabrics are almost enough to tempt me.

    I think I’ll go have a cup of tea and wait for the feeling to pass.

  2. Hi Leslie, πŸ™‚

    Well, at least you have a good reason to go to Emeline & Annabelle! Eheh.

    This is a quick comment post to let you know that you won a Craft Leftovers zine via my blog! Woot! (Didn’t you already won one, a couple of months ago? I can’t remember….)

    Just send me your contact via email!

    Take care, πŸ™‚

  3. Oooh, such great fabric! And yes, organic cotton is very expensive, usually at least twice the price of conventional, hopefully that will change over time πŸ™‚

  4. Great fabrics!
    I know what you mean about sewing not being the most cost-effective way of getting a finished item. I just spent $60 on fabric for some curtains–certainly could have bought some ready made for much less!

  5. I love all these together! Very nice combination of visual texture and colors.


Leave a Reply

Categories

