Posted by: Leslie | September 24, 2010

A new option for Ottawa locavores: Manotick Village Butcher

One of the biggest adjustments in moving from a good-sized US city to Ottawa was the lack of choices when it came to food, especially animal products. I used to be able to buy all local, free-range (and I mean real free-range, not chickens packed like sardines in a filthy but cageless barn) for reasonable prices when I was in the States, but there just aren’t as many options up here. For a long time I’ve bought meat at the Ottawa Organic Farmers Market, but organic meat is expensive and I don’t believe organic is always the best for small farmers and animals (more on that in a later post). So I was pretty excited when I heard about the impending opening of the Manotick Village Butcher, which stocks only local, humanely-raised meats and other animal products, all for prices that are pretty comparable to what I see at Loblaws. I had a head-start on most people in finding out about MVB, thanks to one of the co-owners being the woman who taught me to weave, and had been shopping there for about a month or so already before the Grand Opening this past weekend.

The event gave new customers the opportunity to meet the farmers who raise animals for the shop and get their questions answered. There was also a chef on hand to prepare a variety of meats on the grill, including some of the best wild board (well, the only wild boar) I’ve ever had in my life.


In case you coudn’t tell by the pants, this guy specializes in grilling.

I picked up a few pork chops to take home as well as a few other items that were not yet sold out (it was a very well-attended opening day).

So far I’ve had nothing but good experiences with MVB and I drop in about once a week. It’s great to finally have a source of local, ethically-raised meats–I can’t see myself ever going back to Loblaw’s, or even the Organic Farmer’s Market, for meat again.

Responses

  1. I have got to check this place out! There is a butcher near my house, Dumouchel, which is two blocks away. It’s alright, but you can’t find anything out of the ordinary. I had wild boar at a wedding in Yellowknife this summer and it was FABULOUS! Cool to know somewhere I can buy some.

  2. This sounds very cool! I’ll have to stop by the next time I head up to Ottawa.


Leave a Reply

Categories

