Posted by: Leslie | May 26, 2007

Monkey FO

I knit this monkey a while back for a friend’s daughter’s third birthday. She was born in the year of the monkey and has a lot of monkey-themed stuff, so it seemed like a good choice. The pattern was from Fiona McTague’s Knitted Toys, though I substituted Plymouth Encore for the recommended non-machine-washable yarn (seriously, a stuffed animal for a small child needs to be easily washed).

It was fun to knit and turned out well, despite my doubts about it being my first ever stuffed animal. The only thing I plan to change for next time (and there will be a next time, as James wants one in blue) is that I will convert as much of the flat-knit pieces to the round as I possibly can. What is it with knit toy designers and seaming? Even the skinny tail on this was flat-knit, and that makes no sense. But anyway, the G’s in the ears were my addition–the recipient’s name is GG. I wasn’t sure whether she’d like it; you never know with kids what they’re going to like, especially if it’s handmade. There is video documentation of me at my third birthday party looking utterly unimpressed at the handmade birdhouse I’d just been given and eagerly looking to the next gift (probably in hopes that it would be a My Little Pony). However, I’m told that GG loves the monkey and even sleeps with it.  I’d say it’s a success.


Leave a comment

Categories