Posted by: Leslie | May 26, 2007

I am such a deliquent blogger. However, I have a good excuse, which is that I was away in Boston (sans Internet) for a while. I had a great time–saw James and a few friends, met with my pre-vet advisors at Wellesley, ate lots and lots of good food, etc. I also visited three yarn stores and was for the most part unimpressed with what I saw there. I don’t know if it’s just a Boston thing, but I saw furry/novelty yarn EVERYWHERE. One of the shops had nice hand-dyed sock yarn (something I need to buy for my SP spoilee…), but I was really surprised to see the profusion of sparkly eyelash yarn. Also I realized I get way more excited these days about spinning shops rather than their knit-only cousins. Not that I didn’t eye some of that sock yarn rather covetously…

As mentioned in a previous entry, I took a class from Kaye Collins last November. Well, she stopped by Shuttles, Spindles, and Skeins in Boulder for a one-day workshop a couple of weeks ago and I had to sign up. The workshop was on spinning dog hair, which not many people do though you can make some surprisingly nice yarns out of it. Also, properly washed dog hair does not smell like dog šŸ˜‰ Kaye gave us quite a lot to play with and I’ve been spinning up several mini-skeins from various breeds; my goal is to use them as an entry in my guild‘s “President’s Challenge” contest at the annual guild luncheon next month. The President Challenge invites all guild members to “try something new”, and prizes will be awarded based on our results. I’m planning to make a poster with my mini-skeins and info on the dog breeds they come from and WIN A PRIZE. Well, I hope so, anyway!

Leave a Reply

Categories

