Posted by: Leslie | January 23, 2011

FO: Star Crossed Slouchy Beret

Judging by its popularity on Ravelry (6805 projects at last count), the Star Crossed Slouchy Beret is as appealing to others as it was to me. I needed a new winter hat, and the pattern looked like a quick and easy knit.

And that is basically what it was. Done over three evenings in Debbie Bliss Rialto Aran yarn (100% merino, cabled, and aran weight as the name implies), it was a straightforward pattern. I didn’t modify it at all and am very pleased with the result, though I may block it out a bit more:

It’s also warm enough that my head didn’t freeze in the -30 C temps in Montreal yesterday. It’s amazing how much warmer a light wool hat is than a thicker acrylic one.

Responses

  1. This turned out really pretty, and such a quick project. I must make one too!

  2. love the hat! I knit mine with a verigated, thinner more fluffy wool for lack of a better word but I love the look of yours – solid and the thicker yarn! very nice!!

  3. That came out beautifully and the color is magnificent with your hair..

  4. Thanks all–love these quick and satisfying projects. At this rate I’ll never get to knitting a sweater…

  5. So pretty! I love the deep blue color you chose! :)

    • Thank you! I’ve ventured into the world of bright colours this past year, but deep blue is still my old standby.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

